Friday, September 29, 2017

Julia Golding at OLA


On Tuesday 26th September, pupils from four schools; OLA, OLA Juniors, St Edmunds and Long Furlong, excitedly waited for Julia Golding to arrive. 

Julia is a multi-award winning writer for children and young adults. She is the author of the ‘Cat Royal’ series of books set in eighteenth century London.

. . 'Reader, you are set to embark on an adventure about one hidden treasure, two bare-knuckle boxers, three enemies and four hundred and thirty-eight rioters.

I was brought up in Drury Lane, so I have become accustomed to a life less than ordinary. But this turn of events, I have to say, surprised even me. Follow me, and I will show you in The Diamond of Drury Lane.'

Julia has also written ‘Mel Foster and the Demon Butler’ a warm and witty gothic tale, perfect for fans of Chris Riddell's Goth Girl and lovers of historical adventure. You can find out more about Julia and her books at www.juliagolding.co.uk.

Before the event began, the sharp eyed among the crowd noticed Julia outside
the auditorium as she signed a pile of pre-ordered books .  Once signing was complete, Julia headed into meet the crowd and what a crowd it was….!  The energy was noticeable in the room with some children clearly very excited to be hearing from such a great author.

Over the course of the next hour or so, Julia regaled the audience with stories of her books and the writing process.  She has been writing since 2006 (longer than some of the audience had been alive!) and writes under three different names so there were plenty of good stories to share with the excitable crowd.

Towards the end of the event, three children were invited to pick out hats from a range offered by the author and were then asked to say what they thought the hat represented.  The favourite response (by far!) was from the young boy who decided that his hat had turned him into an assassin!!!

After hearing Julia speak, the floor was opened to questions.  The questions posed to Julia were intelligent and relevant, ranging from why Julia was an author (because she realised that someone was willing to pay her to do something that she loved) to information about her website (Julia does all of her own web design).

At the end of the event, Julia invited any children whose questions had not been answered to come and meet her at the signing table.  A long queue formed as questions were asked and more books were signed.

Before long, it was time for the children to head home so the last goodbye was said as the final books were signed (we got some for the shop).  All of the children left happy and laden with books.

A huge thank you to Julia for such a great event and to Barbara and the team at OLA for hosting.

No comments:

Post a Comment