Children's September Picture Book of the Month

The Girl and the Dinosaur by Hollie Hughes

The wishing stars burn bright tonight, the air is thick with dreams, and a deeply sleeping dinosaur is waking up, it seems . . .

In a town by the seaside, Marianne is often seen foraging on the beach. But she isn't playing with children her own age.

Instead Marianne is alone, and digging for dinosaur bones to build a special sort of companion. Then, one night, she goes to sleep wishing with all her heart that her dinosaur might come to life . . .

A masterpiece of storytelling with evocative and stunning illustrations, destined to be read for years to come.  The Girl and the Dinosaur is available for £9.90 throughout the month of September.  Drop us an email to request a copy.

Children's Fiction (10+) September Book of the Month

The Afterwards by A.F. Harrold

Fact: Ember and Ness are best friends. There's nothing more to say about it. It is what it is.

It is what will always be. Ember and Ness. Then Ness dies.

It is sudden and unexpected and leaves Ember completely empty. How can this be?When Ember finds a way into the Afterworld, she determines to bring Ness back. Because that's what friends do isn't it? They rescue each other.

They help. They never give up. Ember and Ness.

That don't change. A powerful, poignant, darkly comic and deeply moving story about friendship at its most extraordinary.

The Afterwards is available for £7.20 through the month of September.  Drop us an email to reserve your copy.

Children's Fiction (5+) September Book of the Month

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue by Paula Harrison

Join Kitty and her cat crew on the rooftops for a series of enchanting adventures by the light of the moon. Here, Kitty will discover that being a superhero is about more than using her special abilities-she must learn to be courageous too, scaling the city clock tower to rescue a very frightened kitten.

Perfect for fans of Isadora Moon and Claude - This is definitely going to be a new shop favourite.

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue is available for £5.40 through the month of September.  Get in touch to reserve your copy today.


YA (Young Adult) September Book of the Month

We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived. Nobody knows that Zafira is the Hunter.

Forced to disguise herself as a man, she braves the cursed forest to feed her people. If she is exposed as a girl, all of her achievements will be rejected. Nasir is the infamous Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the sultan.

If he refuses he will be punished in the most brutal of ways. Both are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya - but neither wants to be. And when Zafira embarks on a quest to restore magic to her suffering world, Nasir is sent by the sultan on a similar mission: retrieve magic and kill the hunter.

But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds, and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine . . .

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal's We Hunt the Flame - first in the Sands of Arawiya duology - is a breathtaking debut about discovery, conquering fear, and taking identity into your own hands.

We Hunt the Flame will be available for £7.20 through the month of September.  Send us an email to reserve your copy.

September Non-Fiction Book of the Month

Atlas of Vanishing Places by Travis Elborough

Maps offer us a chance to see not just how our world looks today, but how it once looked. But what about the places that are no longer mapped? 

Cities forgotten under the dust of newly settled land?  Rivers and seas whose changing shape has shifted the landscape around them? Or, even, places that have seemingly vanished, without a trace? 

Travis Elborough takes you on a voyage to all corners of the world in search of the lost, disappearing and vanished. Specially commissioned cartography showing each place as It once was and how it is today and archive photography bring these incredible stories to life.

The Atlas of Vanishing Places will be available for £19.80 throughout the month of September. Drop us an email to reserve your copy.